Route 50 – Postscript

One of the first things that I did when I got home was to go through the nice collection of mail that I had collected over the last two and a half weeks. One of the things that was in the mail was a packet from the Nevada Division of Tourism.

Route 50 got the nickname of “Loneliest Road in America” from an article in Life magazine in July of 1986. Nevada decided to adopt the nickname and started a campaign called THE NEVADA HIGHWAY 50 SURVIVAL CHALLENGE: THE LONELIEST ROAD IN AMERICA. Before the trip started I had ordered the survival guide booklet. The idea was that if you visited five towns out of the seven listed on the loneliest highway and received rubber stamps indicating that you had actually stopped in each town, you could turn in a card included in the guide and receive something from the state in return.

At my last stop, Fallon, after I received my last stamp, the lady was kind enough to offer to mail in the card for me. As a result, I had my package when I returned. What was included in the package was a pin and a certificate. The certificate welcomes me “as the newest member of a select group of hardy explorers who have completed the journey across Highway 50 in Nevada.” It’s the simple things in life that are fun.

Over the next several weeks I hope to have time to process some of the photos that I have taken so that they are suitable for printing. When I get them done I will be sure to post low resolution versions on this site so that you can see them.

I hope that you have enjoyed following my personal road trip. For me, it is a trip that I have wanted to make for a long time. I saw many sights that I have wanted to see for a long time. It has also been a nice break from things going on in my life and in a lot of ways is literally a marker for many changes in my life. Those of you who know me personally know the details.

I mentioned in a previous post how surprised I was that people found it strange that I took this trip on my own. There is something to be said for being able to do things by yourself. Hopefully, this gives courage and maybe some prompting for some of you to venture out and do things on your own. Even if it is as simple as going to a movie or having dinner out y yourself.

Take care. – Gynzer

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started